Reviews of Boschfontein Guest Farm


"Boschfontein stay"

(South Africa) Michelle Pazzi | 28 April 2015

"We had a very relaxing stay at Boschfontein farm, in the chalet for 2 people. It is rustic accommodation with an outdoor kitchen using a gas fridge and oven, a 'donkey' boiler for hot water and a solar battery for lighting. The views are amazing and it was very peaceful! "


"Farm Stopover at Boschfontein"

(South Africa) Lourens van Skalkwyk | 17 September 2014

"A beautiful, tranquil place to stay. Old style farm hospitality form Louis Botha and his lovely wife.

I stayed only one night but it felt like I have known the Bothas a long time. They went out of their way to make me feel at home, and Louis even took me for a drive to the far end of his farm..."

more

"A beautiful, tranquil place to stay. Old style farm hospitality form Louis Botha and his lovely wife.

I stayed only one night but it felt like I have known the Bothas a long time. They went out of their way to make me feel at home, and Louis even took me for a drive to the far end of his farm, although this was not part of my reservation arrangements.

My room for the night was comfortable and clean, and breakfast was super.

I can recommend Boschfontein Guest Farm any time."


"Very nice cottage"

(Netherlands) Anita Joppe | 1 June 2014

"We stayed 3 nights in the cottage.

Back to nature. It was wonderful!

Such a beautiful view, the only sounds were the monkeys and a kudu.

And very friendly, helpful owners. Recommended!"


"Relaxing weekend in the Waterberg"

(South Africa) Erwin Maderthaner | 10 June 2013

"We stayed in the 2 - sleeper self - catering chalet up on the mountain in the middle of the bush. What a beautiful view of the Waterberg and the bush of the game farm!

The rustic chalet is well equipped and the bed is comfortable. We loved relaxing on the stoep enjoying the view. It is also n..."

more

"We stayed in the 2 - sleeper self - catering chalet up on the mountain in the middle of the bush. What a beautiful view of the Waterberg and the bush of the game farm!

The rustic chalet is well equipped and the bed is comfortable. We loved relaxing on the stoep enjoying the view. It is also nice to walk around the farm. I fired up the donkey boiler, and in no time we had hot water for a bath and shower. The water remained hot until the next morning.

The farm is also conveniently close to the Marakele National Park, which we visited on Saturday and Sunday morning. What fabulous mountain and bush scenery in the park!

The accommodation at the farm is good value for money, we will be back!"


"Asemrowend!!"

(South Africa) JeanŽ Rex | 10 September 2012

"Perfekte nag in die Bosveld - volmaan, vuur, stilte, natuurgeluide, buitestort... besonderse belewenis!!"


"Very private!"

(Botswana) Curt Hanson | 23 April 2012

"Very nice secluded cabin overlooking valley. A little dark at night as no electricity and battery supply low. Host and hostess are extremely nice and go beyond the call of duty. It was interesting to be able to share their world. Thanks."


"Escape to the bush"

(South Africa) Karen Brooks | 2 January 2012

"Our family of four really enjoyed this peaceful stay in a mountainside cottage. The view is fantastic. It is easy to take hikes and you can see zebra and different antelope. The cottage is very basic but does have everything you need. There is a nice swimming pool at the main guest house, about 3 km..."

more

"Our family of four really enjoyed this peaceful stay in a mountainside cottage. The view is fantastic. It is easy to take hikes and you can see zebra and different antelope. The cottage is very basic but does have everything you need. There is a nice swimming pool at the main guest house, about 3 km away. If you want a quiet bush getaway, this place is perfect and our hosts were very helpful."


"Christmas weekend"

(South Africa) Karin Robinson | 27 December 2011

"It was a lovely weekend with beautiful scenery. Truly a relaxing weekend getaway. The only let down was the hunting in the middle of summer."


"BOSCHFONTEIN PLAAS VERBLYF"

(South Africa) Frikkie Wolfaardt | 4 May 2010

"Baie dankie aan Hilton en Hilton vir aangename verblyf die naweek van 1 05 2010

Die Geriewe is netjies en skoon.Marakele Wildreservaat is n paar kilometers van hul plaas wat dit baie gerieflik maak.

Die lekkerste Pomeloes wat ons nog ooit geeet het!!!!!!!!!

Frikkie en Thia Wolfa..."

more

"Baie dankie aan Hilton en Hilton vir aangename verblyf die naweek van 1 05 2010

Die Geriewe is netjies en skoon.Marakele Wildreservaat is n paar kilometers van hul plaas wat dit baie gerieflik maak.

Die lekkerste Pomeloes wat ons nog ooit geeet het!!!!!!!!!

Frikkie en Thia Wolfaardt NS Stuur groete aan boesman die bobbejaantjie"


"Fantastic stay"

(South Africa) Vivienne Smith | 26 April 2010

"What a fantastic stay we had with Boschfontein. Our Hosts were absolutely wonderful and we will definitely be visiting again soon!"


"Boschfontein Guest Farm & Private Game Reserve"

(South Africa) Michelle Van Zyl | 2 November 2009

"We reeived a very warm welcome, we felt like old friends of the Botha's. They went out of their way, to make our stay as comfortable as possible. It is a lovely guest house! The breakfast, Shirley prepared was out of this world! Thanks again!"


"Nearer Nature"

(South Africa) Len Slater | 14 July 2009

"No power, no TV, one step nearer to nature. Pity about the smoky atmosphere everyday which was not the fault of the resort."


"My piece of Paradise"

(South Africa) Abie Beyneveldt | 29 June 2009

"If ever you have the chance....go!!! I have booked my next stay in advance. Our stay on the guest farm was excellent!!!

Boschfontein farm is the best guest farm that i have ever stayed at, the tranquillity and the surroundings is great, not to mention the hunting that was even better and the ..."

more

"If ever you have the chance....go!!! I have booked my next stay in advance. Our stay on the guest farm was excellent!!!

Boschfontein farm is the best guest farm that i have ever stayed at, the tranquillity and the surroundings is great, not to mention the hunting that was even better and the prices are the best you will ever find.THANKS to the Boschfontein team!!!!!!! "


"What a lovely place"

(South Africa) Jacques Nortje | 4 May 2009

"This was one of those weekends where you dont want to go home. To Shirley and the crew at Boschfontein, thank you so much for your hospitality and kindness. Myself and Marilize will never forget the weekend at your place. I can truly recommend your farm for everybody. Peace, the beauty of the nature..."

more

"This was one of those weekends where you dont want to go home. To Shirley and the crew at Boschfontein, thank you so much for your hospitality and kindness. Myself and Marilize will never forget the weekend at your place. I can truly recommend your farm for everybody. Peace, the beauty of the nature and your hospitality will stick with us forever. We will be using your farm in the future again.

thanks again and keep up the good work. Kind Greetings, Marilize and Jacques"


"Boschfontein Guest Farm & Hunting Lodge"

(South Africa) Rossouw Van Schalkwyk | 27 October 2008

"If you need quiet and peace combined with excellent hospitality, visiting Boschfontein is a must. Shirley and Hilton, the friendly owners of this establishment, have left no stone unturned to make the visit by my wife and I a memorable experience. As a break-away weekend from the rat-race, I cannot ..."

more

"If you need quiet and peace combined with excellent hospitality, visiting Boschfontein is a must. Shirley and Hilton, the friendly owners of this establishment, have left no stone unturned to make the visit by my wife and I a memorable experience. As a break-away weekend from the rat-race, I cannot imagine any better destination. The view from the chalet is exquisite and we were even entertained with a dinner and game drive by our hosts one evening without any additional cost. I have already made my next tentative booking! "


"Fantastic"

(South Africa) Anonymous | 26 February 2008

"One of the most memorable experiences: this place is as close to paradise as you can be; view from the chalets is breathtaking, Shirley and Hilton go to lengths to make you feel at home."


"A most pleased couple"

(South Africa) Peter and Yvonne Flanagan | 16 September 2014

"What an amazing discovery. We searched the internet for likely places to stay in or around Thabazimbi, on our way to Tolwe in the Limpopo bush. Boschfontein seemed quite interesting and we booked our overnight stay accordingly.

Then we arrived and realized that we had discovered a remarkab..."

more

"What an amazing discovery. We searched the internet for likely places to stay in or around Thabazimbi, on our way to Tolwe in the Limpopo bush. Boschfontein seemed quite interesting and we booked our overnight stay accordingly.

Then we arrived and realized that we had discovered a remarkable treasure hidden away in real bush with nothing in sight other than 'real Africa'.

How incredibly well positioned, well serviced and provided. Not just a place for real peace and tranquility but beautifully romantic as well.
We hardly saw our hostess, Shirly, a really charming lady who is clearly well versed on how to welcome and treat her guests at Boschfontein.
Our only issue was that we had not expected to find quite such a gem of a place and were only there for one night - we will most assuredly return, and stay longer, in the not too distant future.

Shirley and here son Louis are welcome to provide our contact number to genuine enquiries regarding Boschfontein to hear our raves, regarding this wonderful place, directly."


"CALM, QUIET AND SO RELAXED"

(South Africa) Mr Edwards | 1 July 2014

"A very neat, in the bush, getaway. Very friendly reception despite arriving really late, we were made to feel really welcome. A great experience in a very quiet, tranquil environment. The accommodation is ideal for that complete in-the-bush away from the hustle and bustle of the city. "


"Bosveld kuier"

(South Africa) Mr Du Plessis | 23 July 2012

"Ons het baie lekker gekuier op Boschfontein Gasteplaas. Dis skoon, netjies en rustig daar. Die eienaars gaan uit hul pad om hul gaste tuis te laat voel. Die uitsig by die chalets is ongelooflik - ons sal beslis volgende keer daar tuisgaan.

(RoomsForAfrica translation)

We had a gre..."

more

"Ons het baie lekker gekuier op Boschfontein Gasteplaas. Dis skoon, netjies en rustig daar. Die eienaars gaan uit hul pad om hul gaste tuis te laat voel. Die uitsig by die chalets is ongelooflik - ons sal beslis volgende keer daar tuisgaan.

(RoomsForAfrica translation)

We had a great time on Boschfontein Guest Farm. It's clean, neat and quiet. The owners go out of their way to make their guests feel at home. The view from the chalet is incredible - we will definitely stay here next time."


"Wild life farming"

(South Africa) Mr Snyman | 11 August 2011

"Boschfontein Guest Farm offers you real wild life farming at its best. The temperament of animals allows one to come close. Owners and staff are polite and friendly, and makes one feel at home immediately. Rooms are well kept and exceptionally clean. The evenings around the Sekelbos fire, stories an..."

more

"Boschfontein Guest Farm offers you real wild life farming at its best. The temperament of animals allows one to come close. Owners and staff are polite and friendly, and makes one feel at home immediately. Rooms are well kept and exceptionally clean. The evenings around the Sekelbos fire, stories and happenings in the area were shared wih us by the hosts who are well aquainted with the area for more than fifty years. This is a place to stay for tourists abroad as well as locally. The highlight was to see the new born (12 hours) piglets of a Wild European Pig.

Thank you,

Peter Snyman."


"The perfect getaway"

(South Africa) Kobus Bergh | 24 May 2011

"We recently had the opportunity to spend three nights at Boschfontein. At this venue one can stay at the main farm house or at the mountain chalets. We chose the chalets. What a blissful experience this turned out to be. There are two mountain chalets, but only one party is accommodated at a specifi..."

more

"We recently had the opportunity to spend three nights at Boschfontein. At this venue one can stay at the main farm house or at the mountain chalets. We chose the chalets. What a blissful experience this turned out to be. There are two mountain chalets, but only one party is accommodated at a specific time, which allows for complete privacy. The chalets are basic, but contain almost everything you need. Lighting is from solar panels and the water is heated by firing up a donkey. Ample firewood is provided for the donkey and braaiing. The main attraction for us was the stunning view, the quietness, no TV and no one else to disturb you - and if you would dare to turn off your cell phone, you are completely isolated from your everyday frustrations. There is a bathroom, but everybody preferred the outside shower, from where you can view the beautiful scenery in daytime and the magnificent starry heavens at night.
We went for a swim at the main house on one particularly hot afternoon and were completely overwhelmed by the hospitality of Shirley, Hilton and Louis. Hilton gave an interesting tour of the garden which includes a 300 year old cycad handed down the family. They are all excellent conversationalists, with years of experience and Louis even took us for a highly entertaining game drive on the farm. So, if you want to get away, do a little bonding and relax, this is it.
"


"Accommodation convenient for Marakele National Park"

(United Kingdom) Mrs Tranter | 12 August 2010

"We stayed for 2 nights at the guest house so that we could visit the local national park. The Botha’s made us most welcome and showed us around their farm.

We had an evening meal, as well as bed and breakfast. All meals were home cooked and excellent.

Although we had bed and br..."

more

"We stayed for 2 nights at the guest house so that we could visit the local national park. The Botha’s made us most welcome and showed us around their farm.

We had an evening meal, as well as bed and breakfast. All meals were home cooked and excellent.

Although we had bed and breakfast at the farmhouse, we were shown the mountain chalets which provide very good accommodation with superb views over the local countryside - we would hope to take advantage of this accommodation in any future visits to the area.
"


"Pleasant Farm Stay in Limpopo"

(Australia) anonymous | 12 February 2010

"I had the pleasant opportunity to stay overnight at Boschfontein during a recent trip through the Waterberg region. The generous hosts Shirley and Milton provide a very personal and pleasant welcome to their home, which is sited in an exceptionally attractive garden setting facing onto the Waterberg..."

more

"I had the pleasant opportunity to stay overnight at Boschfontein during a recent trip through the Waterberg region. The generous hosts Shirley and Milton provide a very personal and pleasant welcome to their home, which is sited in an exceptionally attractive garden setting facing onto the Waterberg range and close to Marakele National Park.

The stay included a guided trip around the farm which carried an extensive range of wildlife species, as well as excellent mountain views across to Marakele from two guest cabins set on the higher ridges of the farm. I have no hesitation in recommending this establishment to fellow travellers.
"


"Boschfontein Mountain Chalet"

(South Africa) anonymous | 2 November 2009

"The mountain chalets offer a quiet experience in the bush, with plenty of bird sounds, and you will see antelope such as blesbok, impala, and we heard the zebra's every night.
It is one step up from camping, and it is very clean and well kept.
Another bonus is that it is 8km from Marakele's ..."

more

"The mountain chalets offer a quiet experience in the bush, with plenty of bird sounds, and you will see antelope such as blesbok, impala, and we heard the zebra's every night.
It is one step up from camping, and it is very clean and well kept.
Another bonus is that it is 8km from Marakele's main gate - so we used the opportunity to explore Marakele while staying there.
The hosts are very generous and friendly, and they clearly enjoy the interaction with their visitors."


"A real touch of South African hospitality"

(United Kingdom) John Jepson | 10 December 2008

"Shirley and Hilton provide genuine South African hospitality. They treat you as old friends rather than passing visitors and cannot do enough for you. The gardens are magnificent and full of birds, with wildlife just over the fence. The optional braai is definitely recommended. "


"Boschfontein Guest Farm"

(South Africa) Hannes and Louise | 9 December 2008

"We really enjoyed the stay in the chalet, especially the peace and quiet and the privacy. The attention and service from our hosts were excellent."


"Wonderful experience"

(South Africa) Mr Reynders | 2 October 2008

"What an opportunity to visit nature in the real sense. We stayed in the mountain chalets and being so close by to nature was wonderful. My son of 7 enjoyed it so much and "Oom Hilton" is his hero! To Shirley and Hilton thanks for your hospitality and willingness to help us with everything, even pull..."

more

"What an opportunity to visit nature in the real sense. We stayed in the mountain chalets and being so close by to nature was wonderful. My son of 7 enjoyed it so much and "Oom Hilton" is his hero! To Shirley and Hilton thanks for your hospitality and willingness to help us with everything, even pulling my LDV out when I got stuck between the rocks! Thanks again!"


"Review - Boschfontein Guest Farm"

(Netherlands) Mr Snijder | 20 August 2008

"The Boschfontein Guest Farm has nice rooms and especially the self catering cottages up the mountain are very nice!
The owners provide a personal hospitality and especially their breakfast was great.
The best orange juice we have ever had! (Fresh from the garden!)
Thank you for everythin..."

more

"The Boschfontein Guest Farm has nice rooms and especially the self catering cottages up the mountain are very nice!
The owners provide a personal hospitality and especially their breakfast was great.
The best orange juice we have ever had! (Fresh from the garden!)
Thank you for everything!"


"Review Boschfontein"

(Netherlands) Mr Smits | 23 April 2007

"It has very friendly people. We felt at home. Breakfast was the best we had of all lodges."