Reviews of Mountain View Guest House (Springbok)


"Absolutely wonderful"

(South Africa) willie | 6 May 2020

"We stayed at Mountain View during February 2020 on our way to Langebaan and enjoyed it very much. Will recommend it to anyone who would like to stay there, it is real value for money. Great place!"


"Old world hospitality"

(South Africa) Anton | 16 July 2018

"The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful upon arrival.
The room was basic but more that adequate for my needs, a perk was secure parking inside for my car.
I had a very early check out which they accommodated and also supplied me with a packed breakfast,juice, yogurt, fruit, muf..."

more

"The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful upon arrival.
The room was basic but more that adequate for my needs, a perk was secure parking inside for my car.
I had a very early check out which they accommodated and also supplied me with a packed breakfast,juice, yogurt, fruit, muffin and 2 x bacon and egg sarmies. It was delicious .
Thank you so much. I will surely stay there again when I'm in the region."


"Lovely Stay"

(South Africa) Enid | 14 October 2016

"I must say the accommodation was first class. The hospitality was fantastic. The hostess was amazing and very friendly. I had the most beautiful view of the mountain secluded from the rest of the city. I had a great experience."


"Great Stopover"

(South Africa) Gary | 7 August 2015

"Mountain view was a great stopover while I was doing business in Springbok.

I stayed in the Quiver room which was great, really close to the mountain and away from the other rooms and close to the pool.

It was clean, the restaurant recommendation was good and breakfast was excellen..."

more

"Mountain view was a great stopover while I was doing business in Springbok.

I stayed in the Quiver room which was great, really close to the mountain and away from the other rooms and close to the pool.

It was clean, the restaurant recommendation was good and breakfast was excellent.

I would definitely stay there again! "


"Pleased with everything"

(South Africa) Ruiters | 29 April 2015

"The room was good and the stay was very nice so I would really like to come back to this establishment one day."


"HAVEN IN THE ROCKY MOUNTAINS"

(South Africa) HOOPER | 19 January 2015

"After a long, hot and tiring journey up the West Coast from Yzerfontein, and nearly running out of fuel, we arrived with 4 litres left in the tank, in Springbok. After filling the petrol tank, we found, thanks to well signed directions on the side of the roads, Mountain View Guest House. Maggie, o..."

more

"After a long, hot and tiring journey up the West Coast from Yzerfontein, and nearly running out of fuel, we arrived with 4 litres left in the tank, in Springbok. After filling the petrol tank, we found, thanks to well signed directions on the side of the roads, Mountain View Guest House. Maggie, our hostess, was there to welcome us, sign us in and given our choice of room, escorted us to the room we had selected. The room was a haven, cool, fresh, clean and whispered 'welcome' to us. The aircon was a relief, the bedroom, beautifully decorated in white, black and red was fresh and appealing and the bathroom was cool and clean with a shower beckoning to be used.
Our view from the room showed us the unique beauty of the Northern Cape in its own desolation of boulders, rocks and stone which was enhanced with relief by the sight of the swimming pool, viewable from our room.
The ladies who prepared and served our breakfasts in the morning, full setting, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, breads, and of course, hot foods, eggs (done to your preference), bacon, toasts, etc were professional in their duties. Full compliments to them both and Maggie for her instruction to their duties.
Should the occasion arise that we are ever back in the Springbok side of the South Africa, we wouldn't hesitate to use Mountain View Guest House again, and yes we have already recommended it to friends who after seeing photos of our trip to the Northern Cape, are quite keen themselves to experience this unique corner of our country.
"


"Good Stay"

(South Africa) Mostert | 23 December 2014

"I had a good stay at Mountain View. Everything was clean and the people were very friendly. I will recommend them to others."


"All good"

(South Africa) Madi | 24 November 2014

"I had a good stay at this establishment. I recommend it to others to try out as well."


"Stay @ Mountain View"

(South Africa) Mrs Van Aswegen | 17 September 2014

"We had an excellent stay. Would make use of this guesthouse again. Recommended."


"A homa away from home."

(South Africa) Mr Jooste | 25 August 2014

"Friendly staff, a comfortable room and a hearty breakfast. Make this venue your base for viewing flowers in Namaqualand.
"


"Mountain View Guest House (Springbok)"

(South Africa) Mrs BREITENBACH | 25 August 2014

"We had a pleasant stay. Lovely linen and towels. Friendly staff and breakfast was also very nice."


"Mountain View Guest House (Springbok)"

(South Africa) Mrs Senekal | 11 March 2014

"Thank you for a pleasant stay. It is a place we would recommend to others."


"Room with a view"

(South Africa) Pieter van der Merwe | 16 September 2013

"Well appointed, well situated, friendly reception (thanks Maggie) and one of the best prepared breakfasts ever. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return."


"Highly recommended"

(South Africa) Mrs Van der Merwe | 2 September 2012

"We had a beautiful and comfortable room with a wonderful view. We were made to feel very welcome by our hostess. The breakfasts were excellent. I will recommend Mountain View to any person visiting Springbok"


"An excellent place to rest"

(United Kingdom) Mr Gregory | 6 March 2012

"We had a lovely room with a view of the mountain, a nice clean and tidy room with an excellent breakfast.
I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to Namibia that needs a stopover. "


"Oasis on a hill"

(South Africa) Mrs Lategan | 9 October 2011

"Lovely clean homely accommodation. We were made to feel welcome from the outset - as we entered the reception area. Breakfasts were a treat and service was with a smile. The grounds are beautifully kept. This oasis on the hill has thought of everything, from the complimentary sherry to the hairdrye..."

more

"Lovely clean homely accommodation. We were made to feel welcome from the outset - as we entered the reception area. Breakfasts were a treat and service was with a smile. The grounds are beautifully kept. This oasis on the hill has thought of everything, from the complimentary sherry to the hairdryer. A stopover at the Mountain View Guest House (Springbok) is money well spent."


"Visit to Springbok"

(United Kingdom) Mrs Reiach | 5 March 2011

"A very pleasant stay for 1 night. The rooms were excellently decorated, extremely clean and the breakfast was well presented."


"... and a view too!"

(South Africa) Margi Caldwell | 19 March 2010

"On our arrival a very friendly and welcoming face met us - that of Maggie the owner! We knew that we had chosen well ... a friendly face at the end of a long, hot and tiring journey is what we needed.

The en-suite room we were given was a quaint mixture of antique/chic. The pieces of furnit..."

more

"On our arrival a very friendly and welcoming face met us - that of Maggie the owner! We knew that we had chosen well ... a friendly face at the end of a long, hot and tiring journey is what we needed.

The en-suite room we were given was a quaint mixture of antique/chic. The pieces of furniture were obviously chosen with care and this gave a very homely feel to the room. Obviously the air-conditioner was an absolute hit after the extreme heat! The bathroom was large, very clean (important to me!) with both shower and bath.

Two steps outside our room, on a veranda was a lovely wrought iron table and chairs, which overlooked a lovely garden and the swimming pool. Looking beyond the pool one could see the sundrenched rocks, valley below and the rolling hills! Gorgeous! Africa at its best!

No review would be complete without mentioning the cosy breakfast room, the well set out buffet and excellent full English (in Springbok!) breakfast. The rest of the public rooms were all beautifully appointed. We sincerely hope we will be able to return when all the wild flowers are showing their colours.

Thank you Maggie and staff at Mountain View Lodge, Springbok, Northern Cape, South Africa."


"A soothing sanctuary in Springbok"

(United States) anonymous | 8 December 2009

"My husband and I stayed at the Mountain View Guest House after a week in the dusty Kalahari, it was exactly what we needed. Nestled in the hills above town (yet only 900 meters from the main road w/ shops & restaurants), the Mountain View is an incredibly quiet and tranquil place with lush and love..."

more

"My husband and I stayed at the Mountain View Guest House after a week in the dusty Kalahari, it was exactly what we needed. Nestled in the hills above town (yet only 900 meters from the main road w/ shops & restaurants), the Mountain View is an incredibly quiet and tranquil place with lush and lovely gardens and a fabulous view over the valley (the good sized swimming pool perched on the edge of the property also has a spectacular view). Service was smooth and professional; our room was spotless and comfortable with a view onto the garden. Breakfast in the sunny dining area was a great way to start the day. I would highly and heartily recommend the Mountain View to anyone within striking distance of Springbok. Stay more than one night if you can!"


"Recommended to anyone"

(South Africa) Dalya Kan-Dror | 24 August 2009

"I have really enjoyed the hospitality of Mountain View and the great customer service from all the stuff. I especially loved the electric blanket and the warm room."


"Cold but nice!"

(Belgium) Mr Vonck | 26 September 2008

"We arrived on a cold day in spring but the warm hospitality at the guest house made us forget the cold.
Beautiful room, great breakfast!"


"Mountain View Guest House - A delightful guest house"

(United Kingdom) Mr Conway | 3 September 2008

"This was our third stay at Mountain View and we were not disappointed. Our accommodation was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and a pleasure to relax in - just what was needed at the start of our trip to Namibia."


"Pleasant stay"

(Germany) Mr Siebrasse | 22 February 2008

"Great place to stay in the Springbok area. Welcomed by tea, which we had in the lounge. The rooms are spacious, clean and there is a nice terrace close to a small swimming pool. We would book again."


"Mountain View Lodge with a beautiful view"

(Namibia) Mrs Susann Kinghorn | 13 January 2008

"We stayed in the Mountain View Lodge in Springbok as a family on 24th of December. Our extremely friendly host offered us two rooms, although we had only booked one, and we could make use of the beautiful accommodation, although it was closed already due to family visits over Christmas. The accomoda..."

more

"We stayed in the Mountain View Lodge in Springbok as a family on 24th of December. Our extremely friendly host offered us two rooms, although we had only booked one, and we could make use of the beautiful accommodation, although it was closed already due to family visits over Christmas. The accomodation is clean, private - with a spectacular view over the hills of Springbok. The breakfast is excellent, the surrounding garden absolutely breathtaking. It was a perfect start for a family holiday, and we can all recommend this accommodation. "


"Mountain View review"

(South Africa) Mr Nel | 7 January 2008

"Maggie's hospitality and friendliness is wonderful especially the fact that she invites/allows her guests into her home. The room was beautifully and tastefully decorated and everything was neat and clean. "


"Mountain View B&B in Springbok"

(United States) anonymous | 4 October 2007

"My husband and I stayed at Mountain View 5 years ago and we liked it very much then. It is still a great place to stay but it is even better now. More rooms have been added, internet is available in the new rooms. All the rooms are very nicely decorated and the breakfast is excellent. In gene..."

more

"My husband and I stayed at Mountain View 5 years ago and we liked it very much then. It is still a great place to stay but it is even better now. More rooms have been added, internet is available in the new rooms. All the rooms are very nicely decorated and the breakfast is excellent. In general the place is very nicely decorated and very clean. The host is very friendly. We recommend this place to anyone staying in Springbok.
Other nice touches are heating pads for the beds for those cold nights and very quiet wall heat and AC unit.
"


"What a way to start a holiday!"

(South Africa) Ms Emma Wilson | 1 April 2007

"The idea of hitting the town of Springbok on a Friday night left us a little worried... What was the accommodation going to be like? Would they advice us on where to eat? Would there be safe parking available? A BIG tick to all of the above if you stay at Mountain View Guesthouse/B&B!

The f..."

more

"The idea of hitting the town of Springbok on a Friday night left us a little worried... What was the accommodation going to be like? Would they advice us on where to eat? Would there be safe parking available? A BIG tick to all of the above if you stay at Mountain View Guesthouse/B&B!

The first impression we generally get of an establishment is either how well the directions are OR even better, how well sign posted it is when entering a "new" town. Another tick for Mountain View: Well signposted at the entrance of the town as well as along the way (to make sure you were on track!)

Arriving at the guesthouse, we could sense this accommodation was going to be great. Why? Attention and detail were shown in the presentation of the reception areas as well as the immaculate gardens (especially under Springbok's hot conditions!). This was an owner who obviously takes pride in appearances.

We were then shown to our sign posted designated parking bay (another tick!) and taken to our room. Maggie had us in polite conversation on the way to the room which always helps break the ice and even recommended a fabulous restaurant for us to eat at that night.

Our room was spectacular: overlooking the pool as well as Springbok valley, tucked away from the rest to give us some privacy and was beautifully decorated. Nothing "over-the-top", modern, clean, fresh and well equipped. The best part was a comfortable bed and a powerful shower! (Add two ticks!)

The breakfast the next morning was presented as if the queen and king were dining. Neatly laid out tables adorned with homemade jams and preserves, hot coffee or tea and a full English breakfast done to our liking.

Once we had packed up and were ready to go, Maggie wished us well and safe journey - you could see she really meant it!
As we drove away, we both remarked on how that was probably the best B&B we have ever stayed at. If we ever pass through again or know someone who is, we will recommend they ONLY stay at Mountain View. Ask for the Quiver room – it’s the best in the house!"


"A Good stay in a faraway place"

(South Africa) Mr Prince | 24 October 2006

"A real gem after a long journey of varied areas of the country.

The hostess is very welcoming and obliging.

The facilities are ultra clean and fresh.

Well placed on the fringes of the town so very little traffic noise.

The garden is an absolute haven for man an..."

more

"A real gem after a long journey of varied areas of the country.

The hostess is very welcoming and obliging.

The facilities are ultra clean and fresh.

Well placed on the fringes of the town so very little traffic noise.

The garden is an absolute haven for man and birds.The most ideal stop-over !"