Reviews of Stonebreaker Country Lodge


"Exellent stay and nice Breakfast, thankyou Stonebreaker Country Lodge."

(South Africa) ROCKO | 16 April 2019

"Thank you very much to the Old lady that manage the lodge such a friendly person. My wife and I never plan to visit the Cango Caves but the lodge are situated nearby so we went there anyway and had a great time at the caves. The rooms at the lodge are clean and have a beautiful view between the mo..."

more

"Thank you very much to the Old lady that manage the lodge such a friendly person. My wife and I never plan to visit the Cango Caves but the lodge are situated nearby so we went there anyway and had a great time at the caves. The rooms at the lodge are clean and have a beautiful view between the mountains. "


"It was a great and convenient location."

Linda Hefer | 1 May 2018

"The host was so friendly and the breakfast was wonderful. Comfortable and clean accommodation."


"Beautiful surroundings"

Jaco Zietsman | 28 January 2018

"Except for some road works in the area, the stay and hospitality was fantastic. It was a very nice stop over "


"The bast"

Mellory Bisschoff | 15 May 2017

"The country location with proximity to all the tourist attractions was a big plus , coupled with the excellent accommodation and friendly atmosphere made my stay very special."


"We only stayed there one night but will come again ANY time ! "

Willie Van Wyk | 2 March 2017

"All was perfect ! Bwsides the one big spider who welcomed us !! ha ha"


"Stonebreaker"

(South Africa) Klaas Meijering | 20 December 2015

"Beautiful setting - Well managed"


"A perfect night in a lovely place"

(Switzerland) Astrit Gashi | 24 October 2014

"We stayed in a quiet place in a valley near Outdshoorn, 15 minutes by car. The staff was very kind and helpful. A lot of nature around Stonebreaker Country Lodge and it's very close to the Cango Caves and ostrich farms."


"Perfect"

(South Africa) Clothilde Desmarais | 5 November 2013

"Very nice, clean, quiet and comfortable place to stay."


"Great!"

(South Africa) Mandy Kirk | 1 October 2013

"Very comfortable. Very restful. Beautiful gardens. No complaints."


"Pleasant surprise"

(South Africa) Tia Luyt | 25 September 2013

"We had a pleasant surprise and a very memorable stay. The rooms are nice and spacious. Excellent breakfasts were served and our stay exceeded our expectations."


"A great jewel within the Oudtshoorn area"

(South Africa) Michael Stiebel | 2 January 2013

"Stonebreaker Country Lodge is a wonderful place. We recieved professional assistance from the team, as from when we arrived. The rooms are spacious and comfortable.

Thank you to the Stonebreaker Team for the wonderful stay."


"The rooms are immaculate."

(South Africa) Alexandra Evans | 11 December 2007

"Two fantastic days spent at Stone Breaker. The rooms are equipped with all necessities a traveler can expect! The hosts are friendly & welcoming and were willing meet our needs. The style of the lodges are perfectly set into their surroundings. One day spent relaxing and one day spent visiting..."

more

"Two fantastic days spent at Stone Breaker. The rooms are equipped with all necessities a traveler can expect! The hosts are friendly & welcoming and were willing meet our needs. The style of the lodges are perfectly set into their surroundings. One day spent relaxing and one day spent visiting the local attractions - it was delightful! Would definitely recommend ! ! ! "


"Very good"

(Germany) David Walker | 4 December 2007

"Enjoyed our stay very much!"


"Very nice stay"

(United Kingdom) Anne Lodziak | 20 September 2007

"We really enjoyed our stay at Stonebreaker; lovely views, relaxing and peaceful. Situated very conveniently on the road to the Cango Caves, Ostrich farm and the Swartbergpass. "


"KKNK @ Stonebreaker"

(South Africa) Carole Schulz | 10 April 2007

"We really enjoyed our stay at Stonebreaker and the peace & quiet and tranquil surroundings were the perfect antidote after a long day at the 'Fees'!

We will definitely be back."


"Beautiful surroundings"

(South Africa) Tessa Strydom | 29 January 2007

"We were very happy with our stay, comfortable, freindly in beautiful surroundings"


"Peace and quiet"

(United Kingdom) Finn Sunde | 2 January 2007

"Lovely peaceful location within walking distance of a super restaurant. Excellent rooms and facilities, friendly staff and beautiful surroundings."


"Recommended"

(United States of America) Martyn Corden | 16 November 2006

"Nice room, pretty spot, good breakfast."


"Valley of Peace & Quiet"

Anonymous | 25 October 2006

"Wonderfully located, quiet and relaxing. Just the thing for those who want to spend time sight-seeing and switching off from time to time."


"Happy"

Anonymous | 8 May 2006

"We had a a very pleasant stay and I would recommend Stonebreaker Country Lodge to others. It has a very relaxing atmosphere and a fantastic setting."


"Stonebreaker"

(United Kingdom) Natalie Hall | 12 April 2006

"A well situated getaway - away from the hub of the town centre but still central with regards to the caves, wildlife ranch and other must-sees.

Definitely recommend to anyone going to the area.

Only regeret is that we only stayed one night next time we come over we will stay for longer..."

more

"A well situated getaway - away from the hub of the town centre but still central with regards to the caves, wildlife ranch and other must-sees.

Definitely recommend to anyone going to the area.

Only regeret is that we only stayed one night next time we come over we will stay for longer!"


"Stunning place"

(Germany) Juergen Kuessow | 2 March 2006

"The place in this green valley is amazing. Cozy lodge. Hilde and Benny are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant 'De Olde Meul' on the farm opposite (15 minutes walk) has a superb restaurant. "


"Thanks for the nice stay"

(Switzerland) Hans Ebneter | 27 February 2006

"Very nice and absolutely recommendable"


"WARM WELCOME"

(South Africa) ELIAS MOKHAWA | 18 January 2006

"WE ENJOYED EVERY MINUTE OF OUR STAY AND WISHED WE COULD HAVE STAYED ANOTHER THREE DAYS,THE SERVICE WAS FIRST CLASS ,MY WIFE WAS IMPRESSED BY THE ATTENTION SHE GOT"


"It was Great"

Anonymous | 14 January 2006

"apart from a visiting scorpion it was great! (apparently it was not too poisonous!)"


"Lovely Place "

(South Africa) kobus | 25 April 2017

"The lodge is a beautiful place, bedrooms was clean and the breakfast served was tasteful. I enjoyed my stay."


"Tranquil Surroundings"

(South Africa) anonymous | 21 April 2017

"The lodge is conveniently located, it’s out of town, away from city life and the service was excellent. I will recommend and go back anytime."


"Lovely Place"

(South Africa) Leana | 23 January 2017

"We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were lovely, spacious and clean. They went out of their way to make us feel at home. They even gave us breakfast packs as we had to leave very earlier the next morning for the Attakwas MTB race. Highly recommended and will definitely stay with them again. "


"Goodnights Rest"

(South Africa) Gawie | 21 October 2016

"I only slept over for one night, but I enjoyed it. The beds are soft and comfortable and the service I received was very good. I would stay over again."


"PEACE AND TRANQUILITY"

(South Africa) anonymous | 14 July 2016

"Great place for a quiet day or two away from everything and the honeymoon suite is amazing."


"Awesome stay "

(South Africa) Le-Ann | 29 December 2015

"What an awesome place to just unwind from everyday JHB stress. Waking up to beautiful picturesque views and amenities. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Thank you, we will definitely come again."


"Very glad to have stayed"

(South Africa) Mrs Van Rensburg | 6 January 2015

"I had an absolutely awesome time here and I would definitely recommend that others try them too!"


"Quick pitstop but great experience"

(South Africa) Andre Retief | 16 December 2014

"Our one night sleepover on the way to Cape Town was a great relaxing experience with a warm welcome from Rosetta, and cool swim in the pool after a long hot day.
Room was perfect & comfortable and real farm style breakfast was delicious.
Definitely visit again and highly recommend to travell..."

more

"Our one night sleepover on the way to Cape Town was a great relaxing experience with a warm welcome from Rosetta, and cool swim in the pool after a long hot day.
Room was perfect & comfortable and real farm style breakfast was delicious.
Definitely visit again and highly recommend to travellers."


"Maureen Loubser"

(South Africa) Mrs Loubser | 15 September 2014

"What a delightful Country Lodge. The surroundings are spectacular, the rooms were spacious and clean. The welcome by Beverley was very friendly and efficient as was the lovely breakfast she served us. I can highly recommend Stonebreaker."


"Stonebreaker Country Lodge"

(South Africa) anonymous | 15 January 2014

"I had a fantastic stay and will revisit and recommend to others."


"Very good"

(South Africa) Mr Bassie | 8 January 2014

"The holiday was predominantly for kids and they really enjoyed it. Because of the heat it was advantageous for the lodge to have a swimming pool. Entertainment was not very far, a radius of 20 km is not bad at all.
Would I recommend the place to someone else? Yes I would, mainly because of the ..."

more

"The holiday was predominantly for kids and they really enjoyed it. Because of the heat it was advantageous for the lodge to have a swimming pool. Entertainment was not very far, a radius of 20 km is not bad at all.
Would I recommend the place to someone else? Yes I would, mainly because of the pool.
"


"Blissful beauty"

(South Africa) Mrs Gliddon | 1 October 2013

"We spent a blissful 2 nights in the peaceful Stonebreaker Country Lodge. Our children aged 7 and 9 thoroughly enjoyed the spacious green garden. It was perfectly located for the trips we had planned, including the Cango Caves. Nothing was too much for our hostess to arrange - we had a braai on the d..."

more

"We spent a blissful 2 nights in the peaceful Stonebreaker Country Lodge. Our children aged 7 and 9 thoroughly enjoyed the spacious green garden. It was perfectly located for the trips we had planned, including the Cango Caves. Nothing was too much for our hostess to arrange - we had a braai on the deck with a beautiful view and the dinner reservation made at the nearby game lodge was also perfect. Thank you for a wonderful stay and super breakfasts. We shall be back..."


"very friendly"

(South Africa) anonymous | 9 April 2013

"I booked the single room. When I came and discovered there is no fridge in the room they upgraded me to a bigger room with no extra charge.
Cell phone reception is very weak. Also in order to connect to the Wifi, you need to sit either in the reception area or outside.
Other than that it was..."

more

"I booked the single room. When I came and discovered there is no fridge in the room they upgraded me to a bigger room with no extra charge.
Cell phone reception is very weak. Also in order to connect to the Wifi, you need to sit either in the reception area or outside.
Other than that it was an excellent stay. Rooms are clean and organized.
"


"A beautiful oasis"

(Austria) Mr Sedlacek | 21 January 2009

"Were pleasantly surprised to be welcomed by a luxurious B&B, (sort of out in the sticks!) really appreciated the little extras, eg. Malve spruce placed on the bath towel as decoration. The garden exquisitely kept. Loved the pool to cool off in. The decor very tasteful, and staff friendly and helpful..."

more

"Were pleasantly surprised to be welcomed by a luxurious B&B, (sort of out in the sticks!) really appreciated the little extras, eg. Malve spruce placed on the bath towel as decoration. The garden exquisitely kept. Loved the pool to cool off in. The decor very tasteful, and staff friendly and helpful."


"Visit Stonebreaker"

(South Africa) Mr Oosthuizen | 9 November 2008

"Establishment was excellent.

All were very professional and helpful.

Views were stunning.

Thank you to all"


"Very beautiful stay - very nice people"

(Germany) Mr and Mrs Schmidt | 3 November 2008

"We can recommend the Stonebreaker Country Lodge. We felt very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The car was washed in the early morning.
Unfortunately, we only noticed on departure.
We like to think of coming back. Thanks. "


"A wonderful retreat in the mountains"

(United Kingdom) Mr Ive | 12 April 2008

"After a long journey from Cape Town it was good to arrive at Stonebreaker Country Lodge set within the mountains. Everything was clean and tidy and the rooms well appointed with very comfortable beds and all the facilities of a modern hotel. The setting was ideal for visiting the Cango caves and the..."

more

"After a long journey from Cape Town it was good to arrive at Stonebreaker Country Lodge set within the mountains. Everything was clean and tidy and the rooms well appointed with very comfortable beds and all the facilities of a modern hotel. The setting was ideal for visiting the Cango caves and the Ostrich farms being the mid point between the two. The surrounding gardens were well maintained and gave a lovely sense of peace.
Our booking gave the impression of a very cheap stay, however on leaving we discovered that a mistake had been made and the cost was double. We felt sorry for the manager, who was very diplomatic on a mistake not of her making. However we happily paid the full amount as it was still very good value.
We can certainly recommend this lovely Lodge.
Warm greetings from Robin and June Ive "


"Let there be light!"

(United Kingdom) Mr Edwards | 26 February 2008

"The staff at this establishment were very friendly and helpful. My only critisism would be that the lighting in the room was not sufficient - wicker shades and low value light bulbs. Breakfasts were adequate.
The standards of cleanliness were of a high standard."


"Finding Stonebreaker"

(United Kingdom) Mrs King | 21 November 2007

"Stonebreaker Lodge was unique among the guest houses we stayed in during our touring holiday in the Western Cape. The rooms were in blocks of four or eight spaced out and almost like a collection of houses looking out onto mountains and big skies and the surrounding gardens were well kept. The bed..."

more

"Stonebreaker Lodge was unique among the guest houses we stayed in during our touring holiday in the Western Cape. The rooms were in blocks of four or eight spaced out and almost like a collection of houses looking out onto mountains and big skies and the surrounding gardens were well kept. The bedrooms and bathrooms were spacious, tastefully furnished and well equipped with outside sitting areas.

When we were there the service in the dining room at breakfast was efficient, and the breakfasts acceptable. We would recommend Stonebreaker Country Lodge as a first class establishment, a warning about how far out of town it actually is would have been appreciated.

A car cleaning service was offered which we gratefully used.
"


"Empfehlenswert (Recommended)"

(Germany) Mrs Beller | 15 October 2007

"Die Stonebreaker Country Lodge können wir empfehlen. Wir haben uns sehr wohlgefühlt. Durch die Fussbodenheizung war es sehr behaglich. Das Personal war sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Wir würden zu jeder Zeit wiederkommen

Gerda und Willy Beller

(translated by RoomsForAfrica)
..."

more

"Die Stonebreaker Country Lodge können wir empfehlen. Wir haben uns sehr wohlgefühlt. Durch die Fussbodenheizung war es sehr behaglich. Das Personal war sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Wir würden zu jeder Zeit wiederkommen

Gerda und Willy Beller

(translated by RoomsForAfrica)
We can recommend the Stonebreaker Country Lodge. We felt very comfortable. Through the under floor heating, it was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would always come back.

Gerda and Willy Beller"


"Stonebreakers"

(United Kingdom) anonymous | 21 September 2007

"The place is clean and tidy and in a lovely setting, however, the night we were there it dropped to 3 degrees Celsius and with no heating in the room, and tiled floors, it was COLD. Also, the breakfast was a bit basic, and disappointing, compared to what we had received at similarly priced establish..."

more

"The place is clean and tidy and in a lovely setting, however, the night we were there it dropped to 3 degrees Celsius and with no heating in the room, and tiled floors, it was COLD. Also, the breakfast was a bit basic, and disappointing, compared to what we had received at similarly priced establishments elsewhere.

The decor in the rooms and the communal areas was good and the staff friendly. It was only these two points that let Stonebreakers down for us.
"


"Stonebreaker Review"

(France) Mr Lorimy | 1 March 2007

"Well situated close to the Cango Caves and the Swartberg pass, the cottages are well equipped and comfortable. Nice breakfast."


"Outstanding Holiday"

(South Africa) Mrs Long | 9 January 2007

"It was one of the most wonderful and memorable experierences that I have had in a long time. The view is spectacular; the surroundings are tranquil, lush, and so pretty. We were greeted by the friendliest staff, which became friends with us, and are going to be missed. We felt so at ease and at h..."

more

"It was one of the most wonderful and memorable experierences that I have had in a long time. The view is spectacular; the surroundings are tranquil, lush, and so pretty. We were greeted by the friendliest staff, which became friends with us, and are going to be missed. We felt so at ease and at home, it was sad to leave. T

he staff treated us like royalty, and we did not have to lift a finger to do anything. They even organized a braai for us, which were three courses, of which one was traditional game meat, an absolute treat. The rooms are beautiful, with a fantastic African flair. The beds are so comfortable and a pleasure to sleep in. Our children were entertained by the staff and treated with respect and interest.

In a nutshell, it is an interesting, and unforgettable place to stay and we will definitely go back at the end of the year. Well done to them.
"


"Peaceful and pleasant family stay"

(United States) anonymous | 21 September 2006

"Our family of four enjoyed staying in a very large room with one double and two twin beds, and the room had a private bathroom. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool and admiring the views. This is a very convenient location and was easy to find. The hosts provided a very nice breakfast with several op..."

more

"Our family of four enjoyed staying in a very large room with one double and two twin beds, and the room had a private bathroom. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool and admiring the views. This is a very convenient location and was easy to find. The hosts provided a very nice breakfast with several options and they were able to accommodate us and other guests even during the power failures.

All in all, it was a very pleasant stay.
"


"Travelling through South Africa"

(South Africa) Mr Moat | 15 September 2006

"My wife and I have used Stonebreaker Country Lodge three times now, and will again in the future. We often receive visits from friends and family from Europe and travel with them through parts of the Garden Route and associated areas, including Cango Caves and Oudtshoorn. The reasons we use Stonebre..."

more

"My wife and I have used Stonebreaker Country Lodge three times now, and will again in the future. We often receive visits from friends and family from Europe and travel with them through parts of the Garden Route and associated areas, including Cango Caves and Oudtshoorn. The reasons we use Stonebreaker Country lodge are few but meaningful: It’s in exactly the right spot for a visit to Cango Caves late afternoon or early next morning; is in easy walking distance of a good restaurant for evening meal; we are made very welcome by the staff and the rooms could not be more tastefully built or furnished; The quietness at night after the evening traffic is finished is unbelievable. It is on our list of favourite places to stay and we know with certainty that the quality won't change."


"Serenity"

(United Kingdom) Mr Tyler | 14 September 2006

"Accommodation as good as it gets. Nice small swimming pool to cool off in. Comfortable and clean with all amenities. Lovely breakfast on open terrace with good views. Restaurant nearby for evening meals. Hosts welcoming. Would recommend to anyone,"